Parliamentary business for Wednesday 20 June 2018

  < Jun 2018 >
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Week beginning 28 May 28 29 30 31 1 2 3
Week beginning 4 June 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Week beginning 11 June 11 12 13 14 15 16 17
Week beginning 18 June 18 19 20 21 22 23 24
Week beginning 25 June 25 26 27 28 29 30 1
Week beginning 2 July 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Click on the Right arrow to select a week.
9.15amExiting the European Union
Subject: The progress of the UK’s negotiations on EU withdrawal
Witness(es): Guy Verhofstadt MEP
Location: The Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House
9.30amHousing, Communities and Local Government
Subject: Local authority support for Grenfell Tower residents
Witness(es): Ed Daffarn, Grenfell United TBC, Grenfell United Samia Badani, Co-Chair of the Notting Dale Residents Advisory Board Sophie Earnshaw, Grenfell Housing Solicitor, North Kensington Law Centre Yvette Williams, Justice4Grenfell Councillor Elizabeth Campbell, Leader of the Council, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea Barry Quirk, Chief Executive, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea Rt Hon Nick Hurd MP, Minister of State for Policing and Fire Service, with responsibility for Grenfell Tower victims work, Home Department TBC, Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House
9.30amEnvironment, Food and Rural Affairs
Subject: Proposed merger of ASDA and Sainsbury's
Witness(es): Roger Burnley, Chief Executive Officer Christopher Brown, Sustainable Business Director, ASDA Mike Coupe, Chief Executive Officer Judith Batchelar, Director of Sainsbury's Brand, Sainsbury's
Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House
9.30amNorthern Ireland Affairs
Subject: Brexit and Northern Ireland: Agriculture
Witness(es): Simon Doherty, Junior Vice President, British Veterinary Association Conall Donnelly, Chief Executive, Northern Ireland Meat Exporters Association Dr Mike Johnston, Northern Ireland Director, Dairy UK Ian Stevenson, Chief Executive, Livestock and Meat Commission
Location: Room 15, Palace of Westminster
9.30amWork and Pensions
Subject: Benefit Sanctions
Witness(es): Sumi Rabindrakumar, Research Officer, Gingerbread Ayaz Manji, Policy and Campaigns Officer, Mind Maeve McGoldrick, Head of Policy and Campaigns, Crisis Iain Porter, Policy Officer, Poverty and Inequality, The Children's Society Professor Peter Dwyer, Director of Research for joint university project Anna Bird, Executive Director for Policy and Research, Scope Martin Williams, Welfare Rights Worker, Child Poverty Action Group Ed Boyd, Managing Director, Centre for Social Justice Kirsty McHugh, Chief Executive, Employment Related Services Association Kayley Hignell, Head of Policy (Families, Welfare and Work) Citizens Advice
Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
9.35amHigh Speed Rail (West Midlands-Crewe) Bill
Subject: High Speed Rail (West Midlands-Crewe) Bill
Witness(es): 62 - Richard, Ivor and Elizabeth Clarke, Petitioners 28 - Andrew, Pauline and Mark Collier, Petitioners 49 and AP1/29 - Executors of the late Peter Kenny (Deceased) and Mrs Val Kenny, Petitioners 63 - Matthew Weaver and Matthew Weaver Ltd, Petitioners 67 - R P and A Green, Petitioners 51 - Richard Weaver and Richard Weaver Farms Ltd, Petitioner 14 - Richard and Hana Plant, Mr and Mrs E Anderson, Mrs Susan Marginson, Petitioners
Location: Room 5, Palace of Westminster
9.45amDraft Health Service Safety Investigations Bill
Subject: Draft Health Service Safety Investigations Bill
Witness(es): Dr Carl Macrae, Imperial College Professor Charles Vincent, University of Oxford Professor Brian Toft OBE, Professor of Patient Safety, Brighton and Sussex Medical School Dr Michael Devlin, Head of Professional Standards and Liaison, Medical Defence Union Matthew McGrath, DAC Beachcroft LLP
Location: Room 21, Palace of Westminster
9.45amInternational Trade
Subject: Trade and the Commonwealth: developing countries
Witness(es): Professor Tony Heron, Professor of International Political Economy, University of York Dr Brendan Vickers, Economic Adviser in the Trade, Oceans andNatural Resources Directorate, Commonwealth Secretariat
Location: Room 16, Palace of Westminster
9.50amInternational Development Sub-Committee on the Work of the Independent Commission for Aid Impact
Subject: ICAI's reivew on The Conflict, Stability and Security Fund's aid spending
Witness(es): Richard Gledhill, Lead Commissioner Willem van Eekelen, Team Leader, Independent Commission for Aid Impact Melinda Simmons, Director of Implementation for Cross-Government Funds, National Security Secretariat Dr Christian Dennys, Acting Head of Joint Programme Hub
Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster
10.30amWomen and Equalities
Subject: Work of the Government Equalities Office
Witness(es): Rt Hon Penny Mordaunt MP, Minister for Women and Equalities Hilary Spencer, Director, Government Equalities Office
Location: Room 18, Palace of Westminster
10.45amInternational Trade
Subject: UK trade policy transparency and scrutiny
Witness(es): Shanker Singham, Director of the International Trade and Competition Unit, Institute of Economic Affairs Sir Lockwood Smith, International Trade and Competition Unit Advisory Council Alan Oxley, International Trade and Competition Unit Advisory Council
Location: Room 16, Palace of Westminster
2.05pmHigh Speed Rail (West Midlands-Crewe) Bill
Subject: High Speed Rail (West Midlands-Crewe) Bill
Witness(es): As for morning session unless already heard
Location: Room 5, Palace of Westminster
Subject: Digital currencies
Witness(es): Marco Santori, Chief Legal Officer, Blockchain Obi Nwosu, CEO, Coinfloor Iqbal Gandham, Chairman, CryptoUK and Managing Diretor, eToro Izabella Kaminska, Editor, FT Alphaville
Location: Room 6, Palace of Westminster
2.30pmPublic Accounts
Subject: Strategic Suppliers
Witness(es): John Manzoni, Chief Executive, Civil Service and Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Office Gareth Rhys Williams, Government Chief Commercial Officer, Cabinet Office Coleen Andrews, Director, Markets and Suppliers, Cabinet Office
Location: Room 16, Palace of Westminster
2.30pmHome Affairs
Subject: Post-Brexit migration policy
Witness(es): Guy Verhofstadt, Brexit Coordinator and Chair, Brexit Steering Group, European Parliament
Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
2.45pmEnvironment, Food and Rural Affairs
Subject: Regulation of the water industry
Witness(es): Rob Lawson, Chair of Water Resources Panel, Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management Stephen Wielebski, Senior Consultant, Home Builders Federation Nicci Russell, Managing Director, Waterwise Hannah Freeman, Senior Government Affairs Officer, Wildfowl Wetland Trust
Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House
3.15pmHuman Rights
Subject: Legislative Scrutiny: Counter-Terrorism and Border Security Bill
Witness(es): Max Hill QC, Independent Reviewer of Terrorism Legislation Corey Stoughton, Advocacy Director, Liberty
Location: Other
3.30pmPublic Administration and Constitutional Affairs
Subject: Devolution and Exiting the EU
Witness(es): The Right Hon David Lidington MP, Minister for the Cabinet Office and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Lucy Smith, Director General, UK Governance Group
Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster

Future Parliamentary business is provisional and is subject to change.

Central Lobby

Parliamentary Calendar

Parliamentary Calendar allows you to find out what's on in Parliament.